Menu 

Driver’s Education Program 30-Hours Virtual Classroom 6-Hours Behind the Wheel Training

image of Savannah Tech's Driver's Education vehicle

Learning to drive is a major milestone in life. Young or inexperienced drivers need to learn safe driving techniques. ?The program offered by Savannah Technical College meets Joshua’s Law options that include 30 hours of classroom instruction and six additional hours of drive time with an instructor. Most insurance companies also give a reduction (approx. 10%) on insurance premiums upon successful completion.

Savannah Technical College provides a (DDS-approved) Driver’s Education program in cooperation with the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission (GDEC). Participants must attend all class dates for the full class periods. If seeking a certificate of completion for 30 hours of classroom and six hours of driving, participants must also complete all six (6) hours of behind-the-wheel driving.

P.S. Learn more about our Dual Enrollment program, which allows high school students to take academic degree level core courses, at zero tuition cost, that will transfer to any Technical College System of Georgia (TCSG) or University System of Georgia (USG) institution.

30- Hour Virtual Classroom Instruction

The 30-hour portion of classroom instruction is now available in a mix of live, online instruction, and self-study.

This theoretical component consists of instruction in the following topics:

  • Managing Risk When Driving

  • Understanding Vehicle Space Needs, Natural Laws, and Balance
  • Starting, Steering, and Stopping the Vehicle
  • Traffic Control Devices?&?Traffic Laws
  • Managing Risk: Vision &?Perception, Time & Space
  • Sharing the Road with Others
  • Getting Acquainted with the Vehicle You Will Drive

  • The Effects of Distractions, Drowsiness, and Emotions on Driving

  • Adverse Driving Conditions and Emergencies
  • The Effects of Alcohol and other Drugs on Driving

  • Basic Maneuvers in a Low-Risk Environment

?Course Textbook: “How to Drive” -The Beginning Driver’s Manual

6-Hour Driving Lessons

Behind-the-wheel driver training lessons are available via one-on-one appointment.

The Department of Driver Services requires that parents/guardians invest at least 40-hours of behind-the-wheel driving practice with their teen prior to taking their road test to get their license.

It is our focus to assist your student with the more difficult driving skills since our program only provides 6-hours of behind-the-wheel training. By the time your student reaches their first behind-the-wheel training session with the college, he/she will need to be able to successfully complete the following skills:

  • Basic driver preparation
  • Steering
  • Accelerating and slowing down smoothly
  • Turning right at intersections
  • Turning left at intersections

What to Expect

Training Lesson 1:?The instructor will take the student to begin their in verify the skills listed above are satisfactory and then begin practice with parallel parking, turnabouts, and a very structured driving route to provide exposure ranging from light traffic to moderate traffic.

Training Lesson 2: When students arrives for the second lesson, they can expect longer exposure to moderate traffic and introduction to parkways and highways and to apply what was learned during lesson two.

Training Lesson 3: The final training will include a review of the previous lessons, longer exposure to moderate traffic, and an introduction to interstate driving. Note: Students will be practicing entering and exiting off of Interstate 16. Practice with a parent/guardian prior to this lesson is recommended.

Download the DDS 40-Hr Parent/Teen Driving Guide

The Car

Each vehicle is wrapped in “Student Driver” graphics to make other drivers aware that training is in progress. ?The vehicles are equipped with video monitoring capabilities to ensure the safety of all participants.

Driver’s Education

The 30-hours of online classroom instruction is now available for virtual and independent study. Behind-the-wheel training is available for one-on-one appointments.

Each class consists of 9 total sessions with a make-up session scheduled at the end of each week.? Students must attend the entire class to complete the 30-hour requirement.

March 2021 Session
March 12th – 28th, 2021
Fri/Sat/Sun only
Friday 4:30 – 8pm
Sat & Sun 9a – 12:30pm

Make-up Day March 15th, 2021
Make-up Day March 22nd, 2021
Make-up Day March 29th, 2021


April 2021 Session
April 16th – May 2nd, 2021
Fri/Sat/Sun only
Friday 4:30 – 8pm
Sat & Sun 9a – 12:30pm

Make-up Day? April 19th, 2021
Make-up Day? April 26th, 2021
Make-up Day? May 3rd, 2021


Classes are Friday, Saturday and Sunday?
Friday Classes – 4:30 pm – 8:00 pm
Saturday Classes – 9:00am – 12:30 pm
Sunday Classes – 9:00am – 12:30 pm

Valid Learner’s Permit or Driver’s License?Required

Anyone with a valid learner’s permit or driver’s license can attend the course.

Scholarship Eligibility:

  • Georgia Students between the ages of 15 and 17 years old.
  • Priority is given to students who are children or dependents of a Georgia public safety professional or military personnel killed in the line of duty.
  • The second priority is given to students who demonstrate a financially based need.
  • The third priority is given to all students who do not qualify under the first and second priority.
  • Scholarships are awarded evenly by the congressional district and are electronically selected at random in each priority level if the number of applicants exceeds the number of scholarships available.
  • https://gahighwaysafety.org/driver-ed-scholarship/

Cost: $350 (Includes Classroom & Behind-the-wheel)

Location:?Varies. Check the “Sessions” Tab!

Payment Options: ?

We accept all credit/debit cards.

Registration Instructions?

1. Click the “How To Register” Button below.

2. Complete the form with your contact information and select the session you’re interested in attending and press submit.

3. You will not see an option to pay just yet. We’ll review your submission and then generate a payment link specifically for you.

Scholarships are issued through the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission. As an Authorized Provider of Driver’s Education, Savannah Technical College can redeem scholarships.

Scholarship Eligibility:

  • Georgia Students between the ages of 15 and 17 years old.
  • Priority is given to students who are children or dependents of a Georgia public safety professional or military personnel killed in the line of duty.
  • The second priority is given to students who demonstrate a financially based need.
  • The third priority is given to all students who do not qualify under the first and second priority.
  • Scholarships are awarded evenly by the congressional district and are electronically selected at random in each priority level if the number of applicants exceeds the number of scholarships available.

BEFORE YOU APPLY FOR THE SCHOLARSHIP

  1. Review everything about our Driver’s Ed program.
    • It’s important to know all requirements before applying for a scholarship or enrolling in a course. Click on each section of this page, like “Details”, “Course Requirements”, “Frequently Asked Questions” and others.? Please Do not skip this step!
  2. Check to see if any upcoming sessions are available.
    • If you do not see any upcoming sessions available, do not apply for the scholarship.
      • Why?– If granted a scholarship, you must redeem and complete the course within the time allotted by the provider. If the window closes, you risk losing the scholarship and/or required to cover the cost of remaining unpaid training.
  3. If you see upcoming sessions, check your calendar.
    • Be sure that you can attend all the dates of the course (30hrs Classroom & 6hrs Behind the wheel Training)
    • Scholarships are awarded on the 1st day of each month. Notification of award or denial is sent by email by the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission.
    • If awarded a scholarship, the award date of the scholarship must be before the first day of instruction or class by the driver training school.
    • For example, if a session starts October 28th but you won’t know if you will be granted(or denied) the scholarship until November 1st, do not register for the October 28th course. Instead register for a session that’s available after you determine if you have been awarded.
  4. If there are sessions available AND you are a scholarship recipient BEFORE the start of that session, apply for the scholarship.??
    • This is important. If you aren’t sure, please refer back to Step #2 above and review again.
  5. Parents and/or guardians may learn more and apply for the scholarship

Have you received a scholarship code but don’t see an upcoming session?

We can still redeem your code for you. Please complete this form.

You are also welcome to redeem the scholarship code with any authorized provider in your service area.

Is your scholarship deadline approaching?

Send an email to gdec@gohs.ga.gov and let them know you would like to request a one-time 60-day extension. Tip: Forward your scholarship award email so that they have all the info needed to add the extension.

Will I receive a certificate of completion once I pass the Driver's Education Program?

Certificates of Completion will be issued once a student completes the full Drivers education program. Please allow up to two weeks to receive this by email. We strongly recommend that Driving Appointments with the DMV are not scheduled until you have your Certificate of Completion in hand. Students must remember to keep the original copy of their certificate for Department of Driver Services and for insurance purposes. There is a $10.00 fee for re-issuing of completion certificates.

To receive a certificate of completion for the 30-hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind the wheel training:

  • All 30 hours of the class must be completed AND you must receive a grade of 70% or better.
  • All 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training must be completed AND satisfactorily.

If any part of a class or behind-the-wheel training is missed, you will be subject to fees to cover make-up day sessions if you would still like to complete the course.

I'm older than 15-17. Can I still take this class?

Yes, you can. This class is open to anyone with a learner’s permit! The scholarship is the only available to 15- 17-year-olds?that qualify.

It's raining outside and I have a behind-the-wheel training appointment today. Will it be cancelled?

The only time that we cancel a behind-the-wheel appointment due to weather is when there is a:

  • severe thunderstorm watch or warning
  • tropical storm watch or warning
  • hurricane watch or warning
  • tornado watch or warning

You may also choose to cancel an appointment if you or your child does not feel comfortable. However, this is a great opportunity to receive training of how to conduct yourself in less than perfect weather. If you would still like to cancel, call 912-443-3392 or send an email to abrantley@savannahtech.edu and to your instructor. Behind-The-Wheel Instructor emails can be found below:

To stay up-to-date on weather,?download WTOC’s free weather app!

How do I pass the Driver's Education Program?

To receive a certificate of completion for the 30-hours of classroom training and 6 hours of behind the wheel training:

  • All 30 hours of the class must be completed AND you must receive a grade of 70% or better.
  • All 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training must be completed AND satisfactorily.

If any part of a class or behind-the wheel training is missed, you will be subject to fees to cover make-up day sessions if you would still like to complete the course.

I have my Certificate of Completion. Now what?

Give yourself a pat on the back! You can officially start the process to take your Road Test.?To see what you need to bring with you, click the link that applies to you below:

How does the Georgia Driver's Education Grant Scholarship Program work?

We’re glad you asked. It all starts when teen drivers and their parents or guardians apply for the scholarship.

  • Online applications are due by the 5th day of each month.
  • Effective July 1, 2019, scholarship award and denial notifications will be sent on the first day of each month rather than the 20th of each month. Students and parents are notified by email if the application has been awarded or denied.
  • Students have 30 days from the date of the scholarship award to choose an authorized driver’s education provider and present their scholarship redemption code to enroll in a 30/6 driver’s education course. Students have 180 days from the date of the scholarship award to complete the 30/6 course.

I can't make it to one of the classes in a session. Can I still take the course?

First,?take a look to see if another session may work better with your schedule. If you will have to miss one of the classes, we encourage you to still sign up for the session. To make-up the missed date without charge, you will have to attend the meeting day of another session that matches up to the part of the class you missed. (Example: the 1st meeting day =Part 1, 2nd meeting day = Part 2 and so on).

If you are unable to attend another session’s meeting day, then for a fee- you can enroll in one of our available make-up dates offered every 2 months. The fee is $75 per student. Just send a note to continuinged@savannahtech.edu and we’ll provide available make-up dates.

What is Joshua's Law?

Joshua’s Law is a bill that changes the requirements that teen drivers must meet in order to obtain a Class D driver’s license.

To get a Class D driver’s license at age sixteen (16):

  • You must have completed a driver education course approved by the Department of Driver Services and
  • You also must have completed a cumulative total of at least forty (40) hours of other supervised driving experience, including at least six (6) hours at night.

If you have not completed an approved driver’s education course, you cannot get your Class D driver’s license until you reach age seventeen (17). Remember, forty (40) hour of driving experience, including six (6) hours of driving at night, is always required for a Class D driver’s license.

Am I required to take a driver education course to obtain my Class D driver's license?

It depends on your age at the time you apply for your Class D Georgia Driver’s License.

  • If you are 16 years of age, you will be required to show proof that you successfully completed a driver education course approved by the Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS).? In addition, you must have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.
  • If you are age 17 or older, you will not be required to show proof that you completed a driver education course.? However, you will still be required to have completed a total of 40 hours of supervised driving, 6 hours of which must be at night.

What is TADRA?

TADRA,the Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act, is a graduated driver’s license program for young drivers ages 15 to 18.

Three- Step Process in TADRA

Step 1: Instructional Permit (Class CP License)

Step 2: Intermediate License (Class D License)

Step 3: Full License ( Class C)

What if I only what Behind-the-Wheel Training? Can I take that with you and for how much?

The option to only receive behind-the-wheel lessons is no longer available. Those interested in receiving driving lessons must enroll in the whole course.

What is the attendance policy?

In order to receive the certificate of completion, students must complete the 30 hours of classroom and the 6 hours of driving. If a session is missed, the student will need to complete the necessary makeup days to meet GDEC requirements before certificate can be issued.

What is the pick-up procedure?

Parents are responsible for picking up students on time at the end of class/lesson.

My question wasn't answered. How can I reach you?

We’d be glad to help you. Send us an email at abrantley@savannahtech.edu with the subject line “Driver’s Ed Question”. Or call us at 912-443-3392. If you don’t reach us, leave us a message and we’ll get right back to you.

Upcoming sessions are now available!

Registration Instructions for Non-Scholarship

1. Click the following link: Non-Scholarship Recipient – Driver’s Education Online Registration

2. Complete the form with your contact information and select the session you’re interested in attending and press submit.

3. You will not see an option to pay just yet. We’ll review your submission and then generate a payment link specifically for you.

Registration Instructions for Scholarship Students

****You must have a scholarship code to complete this form!****

1. Click the following link: Scholarship Recipient – Driver’s Education Online Registration

2. Complete the form with your contact information and select the session you’re interested in attending and press submit.

If you have any questions, we?encourage you to visit the Frequently Asked Questions tab on this page to review some of our commonly asked questions.

You can also contact us at 912-443-3392 or email at abrantley@savannahtech.edu

很很干_黑人欧美日韩专区在线_中美日韩亚洲印度在线